Kasım 25, 2018


The United Nations General Assembly Second Committee (also known as the Economic and Financial Committee or ECOFIN or C2) is one of the six main committees of the United Nations General Assembly. It deals with global finance and economic matters.

The Committee has five main bodies that report through it to the General Assembly. Two programmes: the United Nations Environment Programme and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, as well as the governing bodies of the three Rio conventions: the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), the Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) and the Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

The work of the Committee usually begins in early October and ends sometime by the end of November, though extensions are often granted to allow the Committee to continue its work until early to mid-December. Its work is split into two main stages: general debate and action on individual items. The first stage, the general debate, lasts up to one week and begins with a keynote address by an invited speaker. The second stage last around four weeks, and is usually when negotiations on draft proposals are conducted. The Committee also meets annually in a joint meeting with the Economic and Social Council.

  • Topic: To Be Announced
  • Level: Intermediate / Expert
  • Size: 30 Delegates